

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 11, 2024

Contact: Gary Drinnen, Jr. (865) 719-0337

"Rick Scarbrough for State Representative Campaign Announces Public Safety Coalition"

Clinton, TN – Today, Rick Scarbrough for State Representative announced a coalition of more than 50 public safety officials, from across the State and in Anderson County, who are united to keep our communities safe and defend the constitution.

"I'm proud to have the support of this growing list of public safety leaders. They are on the front lines of keeping our communities safe every day," Scarborough said. "When I get to Nashville, I will fight to ensure they have the tools and support to keep our communities safe."

The coalition is co-chaired by Jeff Little, Chief of the Clinton Fire Department and Greg McBroom, Director of Community Relations for the Anderson County Sherriff's Department. The list includes local public safety leaders like Clinton Police Chief, Vaughn Becker and retired Chief Clifton Melton as well as retired Clinton Fire Chief Archie Brummitt.

"Rick knows the challenges we face and will support policies that keep Anderson County safe," said Co-Chair Jeff Little.

In addition to the Anderson County leaders on the coalition are some of the region's top law enforcement officials, including the Sheriffs from Blount (Jimbo Berrong), Knox (Tom Spangler), and Loudon (Jimmy Davis) and Police Chiefs from Lenoir City (Don White), City of Loudon (Mike Brubaker), and Maryville City (Tony Crisp) and retired Knoxville Police Chief Phil Keith. The full list of coalition members can be found on the campaign's website at rickscarbrough.com/publicsafety.

"Public safety professionals across this state put their lives on the line every day to keep our communities safe," Co-Chairman, Greg McBroom said. "Rick Scarbrough understands that sacrifice firsthand, and we can count on him to fight for us.

Scarbrough became the Executive Director of the University of Tennessee's Law Enforcement Innovation Center on August 1, 2018. Before joining the university, Rick served 23 years for the Clinton Police Department, and the last 16 years as their Chief of Police. He began his law enforcement career serving six years at the Anderson County Sheriff's Department. He and his wife Mollie, co-owner of Hoskin's Drug Store, have been married for 39 years, have two daughters and 3 grandsons.

Scarbrough is running against incumbent Representative John Ragan in the Republican Primary, which will be held on August 1. Early voting starts on July 12 and runs until July 27. Those interested in learning more about Scarbrough or his campaign can visit his website at rickscarbrough.com.

---End of Release---



Full List of Coalition Members

Greg McBroom Director of Community Relations, Anderson County Sheriff's Dept, Co-Chair

Jeff Little Fire Chief, Clinton, Co-Chair

Jimbo Berrong Blount County Sheriff

Jerrod Millsaps Blount County, Chief Deputy Sheriff

Richie Catlett Chief of Police Pigeon Forge Mark Gibson Cleveland Chief of Police

David Queener Clinton Asst Chief of Police (Ret)

Vaughn Becker
Archie Brummit
Clinton Chief of Police
Clinton Fire Chief (Ret)
Clinton Melton
Clinton Police Chief (Ret)

Bill Riggs Firefighter Firefighter **Dusty Carroll** Firefighter Josh Queener Firefighter Greg Logan JC Townsend **Firefighter Firefighter** John Nelson Firefighter Dakota Hood Darrick Dugger Firefighter Firefighter Matt Burrell

Richard Hall Germantown Chief of Police (Ret)

Kyle Helton Giles County Sheriff

Terry Cannon Greeneville Chief of Police (Ret)
John Lowery Johnson City Chief of Police (Ret)

Tom Spangler Knox County Sheriff

J.J. Jones Knox County Sheriff (Ret)

Bob Suarez

Carl Bailey

Law Enforcement

Jim Hazlehurst

Westin Hazlehurst

Austin Powell

Jason Stokes

Law Enforcement



Law Enforcement Marvel Moore Nathan Gibson Law Enforcement Matthew Johnston Law Enforcement Law Enforcement Christian Bailey Law Enforcement Tommy Campsey Law Enforcement Clay Jenkins Law Enforcement Luke Hughes Law Enforcement Rick Coley

Don White Lenoir City Chief of Police
Greg Etheredge Livingston Chief of Police (Ret)

Mike Brubaker Loudon Chief of Police
Jimmy Davis Loudon County Sheriff

Matt Fagiana Loudon County Sheriff Department (Ret)

Mark Yother Manchester Chief of Police (Ret)
Greg Cook Maryville Asst Chief of Police
Tony Crisp Maryville Chief of Police

Jan Phillips Shelbyville Chief of Police

Phil Keith Chief of Police, City of Knoxville (Ret)